Forums

Anyone having tire problems - I have blown two in just a few months

Anyone having tire problems - I have blown two in just a few months

Folks, I have blown out two tires by hitting curbs at relatively modest speeds. The first one happened in a parking lot. I scraped the curb coming into a parking space at 5MPH. The sidewall of the tire burst and the tire was shot. Cost about $450. It then happened again. I scraped a curb at closer to 25Mph taking a turn a little to aggressively coming out of a parking lot.

Okay, maybe I'm a sloppy driver, but this has never happened to me in my Honda pilot or my Toyota minivan.

Is anyone else having problems?

Does anyone have any suggestions? I would spring for tire insurance in a heartbeat!

earlyretirement | 11 settembre 2016

Suggestions?

Don't hit curbs while driving. Problem solved.

eddiemoy | 11 settembre 2016

what wheel are you running? 22's? 20's? what are the tires? summer performance or all seasons? vin?

carlk | 11 settembre 2016

That's not tire problem. That's driver problem. You could have even biggher problems if you keep in hitting things.

carlk | 11 settembre 2016

keep on hitting things.

MX is a rear wheel drive weighted AWD. Pilot is a front wheel drive weighted AWD. The way they turn are different. Try make a bigger arc when you trun on the corner. Think how 18 wheelers truns to get the idea.

lilbean | 11 settembre 2016

How do the rims look? You may need an alignment now.

jfarmer | 11 settembre 2016

Hah, thanks for the tips. I still feel like a tire should be able to hit the curb at 5Mhp and not split open. I'm not talking about turning hard into the curb. These were scrapes. I get it that my Honda Pilot is a very different car, but my other other car is an old Toyota Previa which has the engine close to the center of the car. I might also add that the first incident was front tire and the second incident was rear tire.