Forums

14-50R install so many choices

14-50R install so many choices

Hey, I want to install a 14-50R outlet in the wall, inside my garage that's seetrocked, connect it to a UMC and cable organizer. I'm thinking right below the service panel which is on the right side of the garage wall facing outside, see picture. But I wonder what's that section on the lower left hand side of the service panel area, and if I could run my romex wire through there inside the wall to get to the breaker box? I'm assuming I don't have enough room in the wall to put the outlet directly behind the service panel, right? Ooooor install the outlet right above the service panel area which is 6.5' high, and since the UMC power brick and pig tail plug is I'm guessing 20" in length, I could install the Tesla cable organizer directly underneath the UMC power brick.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1RYW0Vs_FIzbyRzgfuc6nwxGqJiot9L-u0A/view...

Alex_SD | 2018年6月2日

I’m not a certified electrician, so don’t do what I say but the 14-50 outlet, if mounted outside, needs to be enclosed in a weather proof enclosure. This enclosure will most likely be surface mounted. You’ll need to run a conduit. I’m not sure that it can be done with Romex.

Alex_SD | 2018年6月2日

50 Amp Outdoor Enclosed Panel with 14-50R Receptacle

https://www.homedepot.com/p/206184036

billy. | 2018年6月2日

No, I'm installing in garage, next to service panel.

Alex_SD | 2018年6月2日

Oops, my bad. The picture looks like an exterior service panel...
The small box on the left must be your service feeder. It’s sealed by your electrical company. You’re not allowed to break the seal. You need to hook up inside the main panel.
Romex versus conduit+wire is up to you. I’m not very good with drywall, so I would go with surface mount and flex conduit. But that’s just me...

bryan.whitton | 2018年6月2日