Forums

A fresh set of tires for $195.67...

A fresh set of tires for $195.67...

Cant beat that. Not even with a stick... My car has 19302 miles on it, and my OEM Michelin Primacy MXM4s were all between 2/32 and 3/32. So I started shopping for tires by looking at forum posts. Many people were saying they were swapping their OEMs for Conti DWS 06s. I could not find follow up posts with how satisfied people were with their choice 6 months on. I looked at those and a bunch of other tires and decided on General Altimax RT43s. So why did I pick such a "cheap" tire apart from being cheap in general (pun intended). Well what is important to me is rolling resistance... I don't want my kwh/mi to change too radically. This General tire is one of the lightest especially when you consider its tread depth. I am not an expert but tire weight, tread width and other things like compound hardness impact rolling resistance. I am hoping that these tires will be long lasting and not too bad for my efficiency. Now how did I get them for $195....? I asked the Americas Tire salesperson if they would help me with a Michelin OEM warranty claim. Fully expecting to have to call Michelin be on the phone.... Bounce around.... Put the sales person on the phone... And eventually get a check in the mail months later. But no... Since all my tires were evenly worn with no signs of alignment issues and I had rotated them (on an AWD) they filled in the paperwork and gave me a $583.64 discount off my new tires. Right then and there. I am hoping I have not sacrificed too much in terms of stopping distance for efficiency. I have not yet tried stopping in the rain. I live in LA so I don't care too much about driving in wet conditions. On the 2 mile drive home from the shop they did seem noisier. But how much is that new tires versus my old worn in tires? I don't care about noise if it buys me some efficiency. Will report more when I have more data... Of course your mileage and priorities may vary...