Forums

Autosteer nagging

Autosteer nagging

First off, I know Autosteer is in beta. I also know my 04/15 build is AP1. That doesn't excuse Autosteer's incessant nagging to put my hands on the wheel when they already are.

I'm a pilot and motorcyclist. I operate with a very light touch because overcontrolling airplanes and bikes is dangerous, and that technique carries over to cars. When I drive on the highway and there's little or no traffic, it's with my left elbow on the armrest and the wheel's 7 o'clock between my thumb and forefinger.

The other night, I went for a drive around one of Phoenix's three loop highways. The initial Autosteer warning, a faint white banner at the bottom of the dash, popped up 10 seconds after I enabled it. The only reason I saw it was because I had glanced at the speedo to make sure it was set correctly. "Apply a slight turning motion," it says. Apparently fifteen degrees left and right isn't "slight" enough, because it escalated to a PING. I'm not inclined to go wrenching the wheel at speed, but if I don't, Autosteer keeps yelling.

After several of these nags, which the system eventually acknowledged that I did have control over the car, Autosteer just noped right out and disabled itself. From normal cruise to "it's all on you, pal" in literally two seconds. Fortunately we were on a straight; if this had happened on a curve, I expect I would have left a silver scrape mark on the guardrail.

I understand that a few morons have come to grief by over-reliance on AP in general and AS in particular. The system constantly nagging me to correct an error that I'm not making is something else altogether. I've disabled AS because the stress of having to constantly monitor it outweighs the potential benefit.

EVRider | 22 december 2019