Forums

Max battery reduced in 3 weeks

Max battery reduced in 3 weeks

I have had my Model X only 3 weeks.

I charge it only to about 80-85% at home, but up to the maximum for road trips, which I have do drive every weekend. When I got the Model X, the Maximum Battery charge showed I had 303 miles. (Yeah, I know your driving, use of climate control, etc. affects your actual mileage, but the Maximum should stay the same, right?)

Now it only shows 293 miles when charged to the max. 10 mile range lost in 3 weeks? I was at a hotel for 4 days for a long weekend between Xmas and New Year, and the parking valets charged my Tesla for free. Could that have degraded the battery already? (It was set for max charging because of the road trip).

I have had several software upgrades since I got this car 3 weeks ago; has that cut anyone else's range?

I'm new to this, so I would appreciate any guidance.

Bighorn | 2 januari 2020

Short term fluctuations are not degradation. Tons of posts and angst about rated range numbers are out there. It will probably take awhile before you can accept that it’s unimportant, but that’s the reality.

mbirnie51 | 4 januari 2020

@liverdoc: First, as @Bighorn said, there is not much to be concerned about. What is your life time watt-hours/mile? Do you own a new or CPO Tesla (what's your odo reading)? Range is based on an alogorythum that uses many criteria and wh/m is pretty important. Where are you located (warm sunny Florida climate or cold upper penisula Michigan) as that helps us give you credible advice.