Forums

Range & Supercharger

Range & Supercharger

Hi All,
newbie here.
I'm interested in pre-ordering the Model 3, but 1 thing is blocking me from doing so.
I need to be able to drive at a constant 120-130 kmh (=75-81 mph) on a highway for 280 kms (=174 miles).
1- Do you think , with the latest information we have now, that it will be feasible ?
2- if not : how can i know if there will be a supercharger installed in the next year on my route ? (north of France : https://goo.gl/maps/MhPuAwZ2EUU2 )

I need to be able to drive that distance in less than 3H30.
Thanks for your advice.
Mike.

KP in NPT | 15 maart 2017

Your drive is very similar to my regular commute (185 miles one way from my home to JFK airport in NYC) - I drive a 70D which has 209 miles of range at 90% charge. before my Tesla it took me on average 3H30 with traffic. (sometimes more, if I was lucky, less.) How long does the drive take you now? Are you going to CDG to fly somewhere? Or if not, will you have charging options at your destination?

According to the current supercharger map, there is a supercharger on your route, in Senlis on the A1, just north of Paris. To do this trip in a base battery Tesla (assuming around 215 miles range), you would leave Waterloo with 90-100% charge (depending on the actual battery capacity, and weather conditions) and charge at the Senlis supercharger enough to reach your destination with a 10% buffer, assuming you will have charging at your destination.

I ask if you are flying somewhere because that is what I do when I go to JFK. So if you are flying somewhere and will be leaving the car unplugged, OR if you won't have charging at your destination, you would charge more than just the 10% buffer, allowing for drain while you are away, and enough to get back to Senlis with buffer to charge for your return journey.