Forums

Watts per mile?

Watts per mile?

I have a Tesla long range model, up to 325 miles. I am new to owning a Tesla. I noticed yesterday I drove about 70 miles but the car showed closer to 100 miles driven based on the battery. Today, I set range mode to "on" and did some tests. Driving about 17 miles, the car showed that I had driven 20 miles (based on the green battery meter). My average watts per mile was about 350-380 driving around town and a local two lane highway / road.

Now for my question, realistically, if I "fill" the car to 300 miles, driving normally in comfort mode, how many miles will I really be able to drive both with range mode on and with range mode off. This is especially important for long trip planning, for instance, from Monterey to San Francisco and back.

I also want to verify that what I am seeing is "normal". Any insight would be appreciated, thank you.

Sandman89 | 27 juli 2019

I have Tesla Model X 2016 for last 2 plus years.Mine show 258 miles full charge but it did not go 258 miles.You have to remember it depends on your driving habit,outside Temperature, load in the car, use of AC or heating etc.325 mileage is for ideal conditions but conditions are never ideal so with your fully charged battery in normal conditions you can drive safely for about 280-290 miles leaving about 30-40 miles for energy wastage.Again this is just rough estimate.While your are driving your car will tell you how much mileage you will get and if your destination is not in the mileage range than it will tell you to stop at supercharging stations and get it charged.

aatisha | 27 juli 2019