Forums

Lift Kit on Teslas

Lift Kit on Teslas

Can you put a lift kit on any model of Teslas? like so that its all jacked up like they do to jeeps and trucks

bish | 2018年9月22日

What grade are you in?

polar.alliance101 | 2018年9月22日

I am 22 female and I don't know an answer to this question because I am not a mechanic or car fanatic. if you do that would be really helpful instead of your negligent commentary. nice user name it fits your persona perfectly (;

Earl and Nagin ... | 2018年9月22日

Sure would be nice. We visited Great Basin National Park with our Model 3 over Labor Day weekend but couldn't go to a bunch of places because we didn't have a high-clearance vehicle.
It would suck to have to drive there in my truck, just so I could get to the less accessible places.
An adjustable lift kit sure would have been nice.

jordanrichard | 2018年9月23日

Polar.alliance101, I am sure at some point someone will do that. Though what I think will happen first is someone will developers an off road EV first. The reason you can lift a truck is because the differentails are connected via driveshafts with U-joints and enables the driveshafts to be positioned at extreme angles. Also those differentials can be repositioned, meaning lowered. You can’t do that with a Tesla drive unit. IF you haven’t seen what a drive unit looks like, just good “Tesla drive unit”. There is no separate “differential”. In a Tesla it is called a “gear reduction box” and it is positioned between the motor and the inverter, as one solid unit.

Earl and Nagin ... | 2018年9月23日

@jordanrichard,
Good points. However, Tesla still has U-joints the could possibly allow a little motion in the driveshaft. This, of course, would have all of the usual issues with stressing the U-joint but one might be able to get an inch or so of extra lift.
Clearly, the wrong tool for the wrong job though and the car would look like a ghetto sled with oversized wheels. The performance and handling would also likely be terrible.