Forums

Dash cam

Dash cam

For those of us who have older Model S do not have a dash cam does anyone recommend a certain brand or model I bought some in the past and ended up throwing them away due to poor quality or couldn’t hold up to the heat . Thanks

EVRider | 2019年4月6日

Check out this article: https://teslatap.com/articles/ultimate-tesla-dashcam-guide

I've used the Topfit dashcam in both my older AP1 Model S and my new one and like it. My new Model S could use the Tesla dashcam but I'd rather use the Topfit, mainly because the recording time is only limited by the USB storage space and recordings don't get erased after every drive.

PBEndo | 2019年4月6日

The Blackvue cameras are popular but I have no experience with them. I have had good results with this 4K camera that I bought a year ago. - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B077B25H9K/ref=oh_aui_search_asin_titl...

I wouldn't use anything less than 4K resolution for a front facing camera if you hope to read license plates.

JPPTM | 2019年4月6日

I have used Blackvues in all of our Teslas--dual front/rear HD. Started with a 550 in my 2013 S85 (now sold), my wife's 2015 S70D has a 650, and my 2018 P3D+ has a 900. I never had any overheating issues. You must use either the OEM microSD card or a memory card rated for a dash camera (high read/write rate, continuous use, high temperature, long warranty). Get the biggest microSD card you can afford. All good.

Jcastillo18 | 2019年4月6日

Thank you guys endo are you in the dental field ?

ST70 | 2019年4月6日

@JPPTM- did you run the power to the 12v battery?

ST70 | 2019年4月6日

@JPPTM- for the P3D?

mike | 2019年4月7日

I recently installed the IRO dashcam, which basically looks factory given how it’s installed. Love it!

JPPTM | 2019年4月7日