Forums

Overheating

Overheating

Here in AZ, the sun is brutal. I have had a few instances where the car's temperature has reached 116º, 117º, and 110ºF. I was surprised, since the air temp was only in the 70's and low 80's, and I had sunshades in the roof. So, now, I have to monitor the car every hour from 10 AM to 5PM. Because I work and live at the same place, I don't drive every day. I'm a teacher. So, when I do drive, I drive after 3. Also, I have no place to park in the shade.

The 12 hour temperature protection runs out in the early morning before sunrise and does me no good at all. I recommend that a 24 hour, all the time, option be available for when the car is plugged in.

I have a car cover that I use, but the temperature can reach 100º with an air temp of 86º. In a few weeks the air temp will be in the high 90's and low 100's.

I hope that Tesla will provide that option soon.

Thank you,

Tony

hokiegir1 | 2019年4月20日

Turn on cabin overheat protection in your cars settings.

lbowroom | 2019年4月20日

Car temps get a lot hotter than that. They always have, you just didn't have a way to monitor it. Don't worry, it's not going to melt any more than any car you've had before.

cfcubed | 2019年4月20日

Like OP says, cabin overheat protection only good for 12 hrs: "The climate control system can reduce the temperature of the cabin in extremely hot ambient conditions for a period of up to twelve hours after you exit Model 3". As OP suggests may be nice if duration was adjustable, say up to 24 hrs. Maybe up to 12 w/A/C, 24 w/o?

Like @lbowroom suggests don't look at temps if they cause you to worry:) Though it may be nice if the car kept itself cooler longer for you, car interiors put up with the heat & always have. Even tho I set cabin protection on (w/o A/C) I still use AMAZ Kinder Fluff "Windshield Sun Shade ... (Large)" in my windshield when parking & crack windows open a little bit if weather & security allow.

Halbach | 2019年4月20日