Forums

How will you handle autopilot .

How will you handle autopilot .

I know that I will be keeping my eyes on road and hands on wheel .
People are getting to comfortable with this technology .

tfay412 | 2016年7月1日

I'll let the car do the driving, but I'm definitely going to be paying attention.

EaglesPDX | 2016年7月1日

Pretty much the way I handle Subaru's Eyesight. Enjoy the automated functions (auto braking, lane keeping, dynamic cruise, cross track and blind side warnings) and the extra safety they provide but not taking my eyes off the road or hand off the wheel.

afestini | 2016年7月1日

Well, I'm a software developer. I've seen the work of people that worked on medical equipment and cars that I wouldn't trust to write a calculator app. I do have some faith that Tesla has higher standards, but I still have limited trust in complex software, even more so when it relies on data from external hardware.

While I will try to use it as much as possible to help provide data, you can expect my hands being on the wheel and my foot right next to the brakes (might even be a while to stop resting my foot on the pedal).

Haggy | 2016年7月2日

As long as I can get my hands on the wheel twice as fast as I can get my foot on the brake, I feel comfortable. But I also know when to anticipate, in which case my hands get there sooner. Usually I'm "wrong" when I anticipate, meaning the car handles things fine and there was no need to take over, but I would rather not regret trusting the car. There have likely been times I took over and had I waited, the car would have done what it should have. In those cases, all I lose is that I have to reenable it.